The SCCCW Reverend William F. Pentis

Memorial Scholarship Recipients

The SCCCW Reverend William F. Pentis Memorial Scholarship was established in 2009 to honor Father Pentis, an Oratorian Father, who served as Moderator for the SCCCW, providing spiritual support for more than 30 years. His work with Council was a labor of love.

Ashlyn Durel,
2019 SCCCW Reverend William Pentis Scholarship Winner
Ashlyn Durel was selected as the 2019 recipient of the SCCCW Rev. William F. Pentis Memorial Scholarship. The daughter of Yvette Durel, Ashlyn and her family belong to St. Gregory the Great Catholic Church in Bluffton. As a parishioner, Ashlyn has been active in the Mass Music Ministry, Peer Ministry Team, and Worship Leader for the high school and middle school youth groups. She is also a member of the Diocesan Evangelization Team. Ashlyn is a recent graduate of St. John Paul II Catholic School in Ridgeland where she was very involved as a Student Chaplain, member of the National Honor Society, KAIROS Team Leader, and member of the Student Leadership Council. Ashlyn will attend Charleston Southern University to double major in Elementary Education and Student Ministry, and she plans to use this coming year as an opportunity for more serious discernment regarding if she will pursue Student Ministry full time
Past Recipients

Anna Schidrich

Molly Emma Niermann

Elena Victoria Smith

Rachael D'Hoore

Natalie Loren Rogers

Alondra DeSantiago

Mary Elizabeth Vernau

Mary Palusza

Olivia Elswick